Joy’s 31 Days on Adoption–Different Ways to Adopt Option #3

joy's 31 dayson adoption (1)

Hi!  I’m Joy and I’m blogging about adoption for 31 days.  If you are new, start HERE.

So, I’ve been writing about different ways to adopt.  So far, I’ve talked about adopting through the foster care system and adopting an infant through a private agency.

Today will be short because I don’t know a lot, but I’ll tell you what I do know about adopting through an attorney.  Remember, I’m not an expert, just talking to you from my experience like I would talk to a friend.

You can adopt without an adoption agency. All you need is an adoption attorney.  Sometimes birth mothers do not want to place their infants through a private adoption agency.  Agencies sometimes require drug testing or consistent updates and meetings and some birth mothers do not want to agree to that.  They can place their baby for adoption with an attorney.  Waiting families can work with an adoption attorney to be matched.  I don’t know if this costs more or less than through a private agency.  I also don’t know if the wait time is different.  Those would be great questions to ask if you consider going with an attorney.  And you will still need a home study.

Here are a few websites with info on this type of adoption:

http://www.adoptionattorneys.org/aaaa/home

https://creatingafamily.org/adoption-category/should-you-adopt-through-an-adoption-agency-or-adoption-lawyer/

http://www.parents.com/parenting/adoption/facts/agency-vs-independent-adoption/

One thought on “Joy’s 31 Days on Adoption–Different Ways to Adopt Option #3

Leave a Reply

