Joy’s 31 Days on Adoption–I can’t get over the miracle of adoption

joy's 31 dayson adoption (1)

Hi!  I’m Joy and I’m writing about adoption for 31 days.  If you are new, start HERE.

Last night was the second night this week that O woke up at least 5 times in a 1-2 hour time frame.  Thankfully, it was before I was in bed!  🙂  The first night he was “stared”, which means “scared” because of a Lego robot W has.  I think he was having a bad dream about it and couldn’t stop thinking about it.  We kept having to tell him that it was “all done”.  Around 9:45pm, I rubbed some lavender essential oil on his feet and we never heard another peep after that.

Last night, he was dealing with snot and drainage waking him up.  We had to continually blow his nose and give him sips of water.  I did the lavender trick again and and we gave him some Zyrtec and finally got it under control enough for him to fall asleep in my arms.

It is so precious to watch a sleeping child.  I’m sure you all know that. But as I was rocking, cuddling, and comforting and he calmed down, I just started looking at him in awe.  This is my son.  I know him, he knows me.  How in the world cannot he not be from my womb?  Is it really true that he is not my flesh and blood?  I just can’t even fathom it sometimes.  I know I’ve said it before, but it the idea hits me again often.  Adoption is such a miracle.

I look at O and his whole adoption seems like a distant dream.  I forget it most days.  I don’t introduce him as my adopted son.  He’s just my son.  I forget who he was before we met him.  (I do understand that this is an important part of his story that he will need to know.)

What a great picture of the Gospel.  Thank you, Jesus, that you made a way for us to be sons and daughters of the King of Kings.  Thank you, God, that you look at us as you look at your Son.  Thank you that you don’t remind us of who we were before we met you, Jesus.  Thank you, God, for making us co-heirs.  What a gift!

 

One thought on “Joy’s 31 Days on Adoption–I can’t get over the miracle of adoption

Leave a Reply

