Joy’s 31 Days on Adoption–Maybe

joy's 31 dayson adoption (1)

Hi!  I’m Joy and I’m writing about adoption for 31 days in October.  If you are new, start HERE.

So, it’s almost the end of October.  By now, you should know I love adoption and adoption stories.  But here is something you may not know….Annie has been my favorite movie since I was four years old.  My parents dressed me like Annie when the original movie came out and I went to see it in the theater like that, complete with a red Annie wig.    I named a stuffed dog Sandy.   I had the Annie record, books, dolls, and still have my metal Annie lunchbox.  One Halloween, my dad even dressed like Daddy Warbucks along with me dressed as Annie.  I was/still am an Annie superfan.  As a grown up, I can appreciate the fantastic cast of characters and that for most of them, Annie isn’t their only claim to fame.

Joy Annie pic_1

A few years ago, towards the beginning of our adoption journey, my parents did a fun Christmas gift for the ladies in our family. We got to go see the Annie play at a local theater. This began the process of my daughter learning to love Annie, too. Though, she will never be the super fan I am. She’s seen the movie and the play and we even did an Annie birthday party a few years ago.

1919047_1363213997316_3428794_n

303628_10150903289381538_860404628_n

I remember watching the movie with my daughter and the opening song that I had heard so many times before brought me to tears. It struck me again recently because my daughter has the great privilege to be in the Annie play at our local theater. She’s an orphan in the play.  She is fabulous by the way and I am so excited to see it this weekend!

I sat in the theater this week watching a rehearsal and in the opening scene I was almost moved to tears again. There are about a dozen orphans and they are all wishing for parents and family. They sing the song “Maybe”. I have always loved it, but when you really contemplate the words, it is a moving song!  Listen and think of it from the perspective of a child in foster care or a child in an orphanage.

“So, maybe now this prayer’s the last one of its kind….won’t you please come get your baby?  Maybe….”   WOW.  There are real kids praying that prayer.  That should move us to action.

5 thoughts on “Joy’s 31 Days on Adoption–Maybe

  1. This blog post brought tears to my eyes. Who would have guessed all those years ago the implications this movie would have in your/our lives.

    Like

  2. I have dear friends who just today began their first blog in their brand new website called Chosen One Ministries. They want to help people through the adoption process. Check it out,it seems like you have similar goals. God’s blessings on all you are doing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

